National Honor Society Induction

The 2020-2021 National Honor Society induction ceremony took place at Lordsburg High School on October 8th. The ceremony was led by NHS officers: President - Tina Martinez, Vice-President and Treasurer - Madison Miller, Secretary - Vanessa Montoya, Sponsor - Mrs. Annelise Kvamme and three other valuable helpers.

The ceremony wasn't like any previously held due to COVID. Only the participants directly involved in the ceremony were permitted in the school. Friends and family were able to view the ceremony via Zoom call, which was projected on stage allowing the participants to see their loved ones.

Each officer gave a speech to the new inductees as the three candles were lit and each one explained, detailing what NHS stands for and the ideals an NHS member should uphold even outside the classroom. The inductees recited the NHS pledge and signed their name into the chapter book. After the ceremony, Mr. Roberson offered a few words of encouragement via Zoom from his office to all National Honor Society members.

The ceremony was allowed to take place at the high school as long as COVID-19 guidelines were followed, which they were. Inductees and officers faced the virtual audience but were placed 6 feet apart from each other wearing masks and gloves. 

The seven new members inducted into the chapter were Seniors - Joie Newman and Karissa DeLaGarza, Juniors - Jose Caldera, Alessandre Granados, Genesis Hill, Angelina Aguilar, and Rainy Gonzales. A great thanks goes out to Mrs. Kvamme and her helpers  as well as Mr. Roberson for organizing this event and making it a success.

Click Here to Read the Letter